A Vegan Seder?

This year will be the third year my Jewish vegan friends and I celebrate “veder,” our version of a vegan Passover seder. All of the traditional dishes are served — matzah brie, brisket, gefilte fish, potato latkes, matzah ball soup, kugel and macaroons — in veganized versions without meat, dairy or eggs. Though not all the dishes are appropriate for Passover, the meaning of the holiday and the traditional foods serve to reconnect us to our Jewish roots. Not only is all the food vegan, we incorporate nonhuman animals into our service. As we thought about what a veder might mean to us, we began to put together what would become our haggadah. It’s similar to those used in most seders, focusing on escape from slavery and celebrating the meaning of freedom. Where it differs is...

Continue reading