“I love how Moment expresses the tumult of Jewish thought.”—Elie Wiesel

Leading the Jewish Conversation!

Moment was founded in 1975 by Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Elie Wiesel and writer and activist Leonard Fein, as a print magazine to provide a unique lens onto the issues that trouble, concern and inspire American Jews. They named the magazine in memory of Der Moment, an independent Yiddish daily published in Warsaw and read widely throughout Eastern Europe from 1910 to 1939.

Nearly 50 years later, Moment proudly carries on the same independent tradition and continues to publish a beautiful print edition, featuring powerful award-winning journalism (including long form) insightful articles on Jewish politics, religion and culture; and a deep well of arts, literature and poetry as well as book, film and television reviews. And as always, the thoughts of the great leaders, thinkers, artists and doers of our time can be found in Moment.

Moment is now far more than a print magazine. Led by Editor-in-Chief and CEO Nadine Epstein since 2004, Moment—under the auspices of the nonprofit Center for Creative Change in Washington, DC—is a welcoming multiplatform community. We publish an award-winning website, momentmag.com, and not-to-be-missed newsletters including Moment Minute and Jewish Politics and Power, as well as a digital version of the print magazine. We are home to beloved fiction and cartoon caption contests, and we host exciting weekly virtual programs at MomentLive! and classes. We serve the public through innovative and enriching projects such as the Big Question Project; the Antisemitism Project, including the global Antisemitism Monitor; the Daniel Pearl Investigative Journalism Initiative; the Wide River Project and the Jewish Political Voices Project. Our public service work is done in partnership with the Moment Institute, our think tank of deep thinking journalists and scholars, which is also home to the Moment Institute Middle East Fellows (MIMEF).

In all we do, Moment eschews ideology, leading the conversation to illuminate Jewish life and thought, fight antisemitism and hate, and help build a better world for everyone. We welcome a thoughtful range of diverse voices and views to stimulate thinking and deepen understanding. If you would like to share a thought or idea, we would love to hear from you. Please write to editor@momentmag.com or contact us here.

Explore Moment Projects