Announcing the Winners of our Short Fiction Contest

By | Jun 22, 2023
image shows a black and white blurred train station with people walking through it. The words Moment Minute and the outline of a clock overlay the train station image.

Moment is delighted to announce the winners of the 2022 Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest.

The winners, as always, are a testament to the mission of the contest: promoting fiction writing that draws on the spirit of Judaism and Jewish culture.

Every year, we at Moment are amazed at the depth and breadth of the stories we have the good fortune to read for the Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation short fiction contest. As writers ourselves we understand how much thought and effort goes into each piece.

The first-place winner is “Arguing with Reinfeld” by Steven Bryan Bieler. The story explores a theme that is familiar to many of us—coping with the inevitable decline and loss of both parents and teachers. But it’s not a maudlin tale, rather a celebration of life and legacy.

Second place was awarded to “Chelm, NJ” by David Tuchman. In this story we learn that just over the George Washington Bridge, there is a town of pious fools. Everything they do is a little bit strange, especially when they meet at shul to pray.

The third-place story is “Night of Broken Glass” by Ilana Marcus. Set in Michigan, the story follows a teenage Jewish boy as he processes the death of a friend’s father, prompting questions of what it means to become a Jewish adult.

Each of these stories offers a unique glimpse into the contemporary American Jewish experience. So it is no surprise that the program celebrating the winners will center on that as well. This year’s event is virtual and will take place on Tuesday, July 11 at 12pm, ET / 9am, PT. During the program, contest judge Allegra Goodman will discuss how Judaism is and is not portrayed in American fiction today and the influence of religion, spirituality, community and assimilation on today’s American Jewish authors. Goodman, whose acclaimed books include the National Book Award finalist Kaaterskill Falls, Paradise Park, The Family Markowitz and most recently Sam, will be in conversation with Moment’s Book Editor Amy E. Schwartz. The winning Moment-Karma Short Fiction Contest authors will be interviewed about their stories as well. You can register for this event here.

Moment will publish the winning stories in the coming months. If you can’t wait for your fiction fix, read four winning stories from previous years below or get our Good Karma e-book here. And don’t forget the deadline for our 2023 fiction contest is September 30.

Mazel Tov again to the winners on a well-deserved honor!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.