Moment’s Awards Program 

In 2010 Moment and the Center for Creative Change launched an awards program that recognizes individuals for exceptional creativity and achievement in their professions and for striving to make the world a better place. Past honorees include Rep. Jamie Raskin, Madeleine Albright, Deborah Lipstadt, Cynthia Ozick, Paul Krugman and Calvin Trillin. The awards are presented at Moment’s annual galas in Washington, DC, and occasionally in New York City.

Awards Include:

The Ruth Bader Ginsburg Human Rights Award recognizes people whose work has significantly changed the world for the better. It is named for Justice Ginsburg, who received Moment’s inaugural Human Rights Award in 2019. Following her death, it was renamed in her honor.

The Robert S. Greenberger Journalism Award is given in memory of Wall Street Journal reporter Bob Greenberger, and recognizes journalists who champion independent journalism and are undaunted in their efforts to tell the stories that need to be told.

The Mitchel & Gloria Literary Journalism Award celebrates the vision of the late “Mike” Levitas, editor of The New York Times Book Review, the Times’ Op Ed page and other sections, and Gloria Levitas, an anthropologist and prolific writer. It recognizes someone whose writing is a significant part of the American literary experience.

The Moment Magazine Women & Power Award, which recognizes women who use their power and positions to fight injustice and stand up for the rights of all.

The Moment Magazine Creativity Award is given to musicians, actors, dancers, artists and writers whose work expresses and inspires the human spirit.

Other awards include the Community Leadership and Lifetime Achievement Awards.