2020 Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest Winners



Ruby Namdar

Allegra Goodman’s novels include Sam (a Read With Jenna Book Club selection), The Chalk Artist (winner of the Massachusetts Book Award), Intuition, The Cookbook Collector, Paradise Park, and Kaaterskill Falls (a National Book Award finalist)Her fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, Commentary, and Ploughshares and has been anthologized in The O. Henry Awards and Best American Short Stories. She has written two collections of short stories, The Family Markowitz and Total Immersion and a novel for younger readers, The Other Side of the Island. Her essays and reviews have appeared in The New York Times Book Review, The Wall Street Journal, The New Republic, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, and The American Scholar. Raised in Honolulu, Goodman studied English and philosophy at Harvard and received a PhD in English literature from Stanford. She is the recipient of a Whiting Writer’s Award, the Salon Award for Fiction, and a fellowship from the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced study. She lives with her family in Cambridge, Mass, where she is writing a new novel.

VISIT Ruby’s website

WATCH Ruby’s conversation with Moment editor in chief Nadine Epstein. “Why We Still Write Holocaust Fiction”—in celebration of the Moment-Karma Fiction Contest.

“The Man Who Sold Air in the Holy Land”
by Omer Friedlander

Omer Friedlander is an Israeli novelist and the author of the short story collection The Man Who Sold Air in the Holy Land. Friedlander studied English literature at University of Cambridge, England, and went on to receive his MFA from Boston University. He now lives in New York City and is working on a novel.

READ Omer’s story
by Linda Brettler

Linda Brettler, a child of Holocaust survivors, is an award-winning architect in Los Angeles. She served for many years as an adviser on the television series “Mad Men.” “Private,” a tribute to her family and the mixed blessings of being “second generation,” is her first published literary work.

READ Linda’s story
by Rona Arato

Rona Arato is an award-winning author of more than 20 children’s books including The Last Train, a Holocaust Story. Her latest book, Righting Canada’s Wrongs: Anti-Semitism and the MS St. Louis: Canada’s Anti-Semitic Policies in the Twentieth Century, deals with Canada’s apology for turning away Jewish refugees in July 1939. She lives in Toronto, Ontario.

READ Rona’s story


Don’t miss this exciting collection of Jewish-themed short stories selected from among the winners of the Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest, featuring award-winning writers Jason K. Friedman, Miriam Karmel, Racelle Rosett, Leah Lax, Steven Volynets and Lauren Watel. An exclusive Moment e-book! (MomentBooks)

Visit the Moment Shop to download your complimentary copy of Good Karma using the coupon code “karma” during check-out.

2023 Submission Deadline is October 30! Click here for more information.