2018 Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest Winners



André Aciman

André Aciman is an Italian-American writer. His novels include Call Me By Your Name, which was made into a film in 2017, Eight White Nights, Enigma Variations and Find Me. Aciman has also written a memoir titled Out of Egypt as well as other works of nonfiction. He is currently a professor at New York University, where he teaches courses on the works of Marcel Proust and on the history of literary theory.

VISIT André’s website
“Goldfader in Full”
by Jed Phillip Cohen

A New York City native, Jed Phillip Cohen holds degrees from Columbia University, the University of Chicago and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. He has taught writing at the University of Iowa and Duke University, and his fiction has appeared in The Iowa Review. He currently lives in Durham, North Carolina, where he is at work on a novel.

READ Jed’s story
“The Eleventh Happiest Country”
by Joan Leegant

Joan Leegant is the author of a novel, Wherever You Go, and a story collection, An Hour in Paradise, which won the Winship/PEN New England Book Award, the Wallant Award for Jewish Fiction, and was a finalist for the National Jewish Book Award. From 2007-2013 she was the visiting writer at Bar-Ilan University outside Tel Aviv, where she also lectured on American literature and culture for the U.S. State Department and taught English to African refugees. Formerly a lawyer, Joan has taught at Harvard, Oklahoma State, and Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle. She lives in Newton, Massachusetts.

READ Joan’s story


Don’t miss this exciting collection of Jewish-themed short stories selected from among the winners of the Moment Magazine-Karma Foundation Short Fiction Contest, featuring award-winning writers Jason K. Friedman, Miriam Karmel, Racelle Rosett, Leah Lax, Steven Volynets and Lauren Watel. An exclusive Moment e-book! (MomentBooks)

Visit the Moment Shop to download your complimentary copy of Good Karma using the coupon code “karma” during check-out.

2023 Submission Deadline is October 30! Click here for more information.